Theories of Action: Being a Leader

In an attempt to help me remember key insights I am acquiring from the course I am taking called Foundations of Leadership. I am trying to write at least 1-3 theories of action for the various theories to hopefully help me in applying the theory in my life.

In terms of transformational leadership theory …

  1. If… I provide more individualized consideration by getting to know the students I work with, like their goals and strengths, then I will be able to help them feel cared for and hopefully boost their internal motivation.
  2. If… I explain the purpose and reasons behind why I am asking a student to perform a task, then they might be more motivated
  3. If … I provide intellectual stimulation, by getting students to think, brainstorm and share ideas in a safe environment, then students will hopefully be more engaged (Avolio, 2011).

In terms of authentic leadership

  1. If … a leader is aware of their key knowledge, opinions, values & goals then if I also take actions that match what I believe then this may help create a team where the followers have high trust in the leader and willingly follow the leader. (Avolio & Gardner, 2005)

If… as a leader I identify the key goals of people around me and find ways to help them achieve them according to Path-Goal Theory, then I will be improving as a leader. (House, 1971 as cited in (Seyranian, 2012).

If… I take into consideration the results from the Michigan Studies and practice being competent in task completion and relationship development by focusing more on giving support and showing concern then I will improve as a leader (Hoefs & Wilhelm, 2014)

If… I assume good things about the people around me like that they are motivated by the higher needs on the hierarchy of needs as stated by the Theory X & Y theory of McGregor as compared to just believing that people are in it for the fulfillment of their lower needs and are just focused on earning and making money then I will improve as a leader (Santarelli, 2014).

References

Avolio, B.J., & Gardner, W. L. (2005). Authentic leadership development: Getting to the root of positive forms of leadership. The Leadership Quarterly 16, 315–338.

Avolio, B. J. (2011). Full range leadership. In Full range leadership development. (2nd ed., pp. 49-75). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc. doi: http://dx.doi.org.uproxy.library.dc-uoit.ca/10.4135/9781483349107.n6

Hoefs, L. & Wilhelm, J. (2014). Michigan Leadership Studies [PDF document].  Retrieved from:  http://padlet.com/yad_thind12/uoitleadership/wish/35594570

Santarelli, G. (2014). Difference between theory x & y leaders [PDF document]. Retrieved from:  http://padlet.com/yad_thind12/uoitleadership/wish/35595303

Seyranian, V. (2010). Contingency theories of leadership. In J. Levine, & M. Hogg (Eds.), Encyclopedia of group processes & intergroup relations. (pp. 152-156). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc. doi: http://dx.doi.org.uproxy.library.dc-uoit.ca/10.4135/9781412972017.n48

Leave a Reply

